Accessibility Links
QuickSendCvDropDownPanel * DEFAULT * fr-FR
 

The Softer Side of IT

De nos jours, nous connaissons une forte demande de professionnels en technologies de l'information à l'échelle mondiale, et le manque de talents dans ce secteur est de plus en plus important. Ce qui complique d’autant plus la tâche est le fait que les leaders en IT doivent recruter des personnes ayant des aptitudes relationnelles, en plus des compétences techniques. C’est un élément crucial pour avoir une équipe informatique efficace.

"Les employeurs nous disent qu’ils ont besoin de plus que des compétences techniques solides de leurs talents en informatique. Ils s’attendent à ce que les meilleurs informaticiens soient aussi aptes à communiquer et à collaborer efficacement. Ceci est un tournant par rapport à il y a 10 ans, et c’est quelque chose qui doit être soutenu au sein des entreprises. Les leaders en IT doivent adopter la priorisation et la valorisation des compétences relationnelles au sein de leurs équipes, et évaluer les déficits en communication et en collaboration pour orienter le développement des compétences de façon appropriée." Ram Chandrashekar, ManpowerGroup Executive Vice President of Operational Excellence and IT, and President of Asia Pacific Middle East.

Pourquoi les compétences relationnelles sont-elles si recherchées? Nous voyons un changement dans le rôle du professionnel en informatique. Les responsabilités des professions de l’IT s’étendent des opérations back-end aux expériences front-end nécessitant une communication transversale avec d'autres services de l’entreprise.

Les professionnels en IT qui ont développé des compétences en communication et en collaboration efficaces sont mieux en mesure de :

  1. Comprendre et transmettre la valeur commerciale des projets informatiques aux intervenants non-techniques
  2. Gagner l’adhésion et le soutien des autres collaborateurs
  3. Collaborer plus efficacement avec les équipes
  4. Obtenir des résultats positifs plus rapidement
  5. Livrer des projets réussis

La valeur des professionnels de l'informatique qui possèdent des compétences relationnelles n’est plus à démontrer.

Pour en savoir plus sur l’importance des compétences relationnelles dans le secteur de l’informatique, vous pouvez télécharger notre dernière étude (en anglais):

Accessibility Links
In a hurry? Send us your CV in just 2 minutes!
 
In a hurry? Send us your CV in just 2 minutes!
Close

The Softer Side of IT

Today, we’re experiencing a high demand for information technology (IT) professionals globally, and the talent gap is growing. Further complicating the matter for IT leaders is the fact that they’re finding they need to also be hiring for soft skills, in addition to hard skills, in order to maintain an effective IT team.

Employers are telling us they need more than strong technical competencies from their IT talent. They expect top IT professionals to also be skilled communicators and strong collaborators. This is a definite shift from 10 years ago even, and one that needs to be championed from within the organization. IT leaders must assume ownership of prioritizing and valuing soft skills within their teams, and evaluating where communication and collaboration deficits exist to direct skills development appropriately.” Ram Chandrashekar, ManpowerGroup Executive Vice President of Operational Excellence and IT, and President of Asia Pacific Middle East.

Experis recently conducted research on IT skills across the globe, in ten major markets, and discovered that more than one in four, or 26 percent, of IT leaders indicate they are seeking employees who can demonstrate communication as a skill. In addition 18 percent are seeking employees who can demonstrate collaboration as a skill. Experis also found that these soft skills are scarce within today’s IT talent pool, making it even tougher for employers to gain the skills they require.

Why are soft skills so in-demand? We’re seeing a shift in the role of the IT professional. The IT profession’s responsibilities have expanded from back-end system operations to include front-end experiences requiring cross-functional communication with other departments.

IT professionals who have developed effective communication and collaboration soft skills are better able to:

  1. Understand and convey the business value of IT projects to non-technical stakeholders
  2. Earn buy-in and support
  3. Collaborate more effectively on teams
  4. Attain positive outcomes more quickly
  5. Deliver successful projects.

The value for IT professionals who demonstrate proficiencies in these soft skills is clear.

To learn more about the importance of soft skills in IT, download our latest white paper:

If you want to go back to your job search, just click here.